My life is far better than René’s life thanks to…

He’s René V. My grand grand-father. He was a smart guy. Ambitious. He was married with a pretty wife – actually my grand grand-mother. He had a good job, money and beautiful children. But unfortunately, René was unhappy. Because when he wanted to hear some music, he had to wait for the next “guiguette” organized in the village. When he wanted to see movies, he was obliged to take the train to reach Besançon – also called “THE TOWN” at this time- to go to the theater. When he wanted to meet new people, he utterly couldn’t. He only saw the same faces, the same smiles, at the village “pub”. A face like Jean-Claude’s, his old best friend (check the following picture).

Decades later, I can assure you that I am happier than my ancestor René. Why ? because, when I want to see a movie, I watch it on the Web thanks to the streaming technology, when I want to hear music, I go on Deezer and listen to my favourite songs… and I simply don’t pay for the music I hear ! When I want to meet new people, I check on My Facebook network… There is no supense anymore : you know what makes my life so happy. The World Wide Web. A thing my grand grand-father has never been told during his entire life.

And it’s maybe better like this : this ambitious, dynamic and great ancestor would have certainly disapproved the way Internet makes me living : without learning me how to wait, how to really know people, how to appreciate music because it’s rare…

Anyway. Forget about René’s statements : you just need to know that thanks to the Web, my life really rocks (or at least seems to rock) !

Leave a comment